Instructions for future reference.
Initial Windows configuration
Taskbar:
Unpin everything. (File explorer, Microsoft edge, Microsoft Store, "Mail", etc.)
Right-click →
Taskbar settings→Settings/Personalization/TaskbarSearch→ HideTask view→ OffWidgets→ OffTaskbar behaviorsTaskbar alignment→ LeftShow my taskbar on all displays→ Enable
Replace Command Prompt with Windows PowerShell in the menu when I right-click the start button or press Windows logo key + X→ DISABLEShow taskbar buttons on- SELECT
Main taskbar and taskbar where window is open
- SELECT
Show news and interests on the taskbar→ DISABLE
This does not work anymore in Windows 11:
- Open the
Run Prompt(with Win+R) - Execute this nonsense:
explorer shell:::{05d7b0f4-2121-4eff-bf6b-ed3f69b894d9}
Always show all icons and notifications on the taskbar→ ENABLE
- Open the
Enable
Developer Mode.Set up user environment variables
DIRCMD=/OGNETEMP=%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\TempTMP=%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\TempTMPDIR=%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\Temp
Kill
let's finish setting up your device. (Might be irrelevant in Windows 11)- Go to
Settings→System→Notifications→Additional Settings Show the Windows welcome experience after updates and when signed in to show what's new and suggested→ DISABLESuggest ways to get the most out of Windows and finish setting up this device→ DISABLEGet tips and suggestions when using Windows→ DISABLE
- Go to
Disable
Windows Error Reporting- Open
Edit group policy(gpedit.msc) - Go to
Local computer Policy→Computer Configuration→Administrative Templates→Windows Components→Windows Error Reporting - Set
Disable Windows Error ReportingtoEnabled.
- Open
Uninstall crapware:
- Clipchamp - Video Editor (Windows 11)
- Cortana (Windows 10)
- Feedback Hub
- Mail and Calendar
- Maps
- Microsoft News (Windows 11)
- Microsoft OneDrive
- Microsoft To Do (Windows 11)
- Movies & TV
- Office
- People (Windows 10)
- Power Automate (Windows 11)
- Quick Assist (Windows 11)
- Solitaire Collection / Microsoft Solitaire Collection
- Sticky Notes
- Tips (Windows 11)
- Weather
If the computer has been set-up by an organization:
- Kill
RegisteredOrganization- Locate the following registry keys and make sure they are empty:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\RegisteredOrganizationHKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\RegisteredOrganization
- Locate the following registry keys and make sure they are empty:
- Kill
Install software
Install Obsidian
- From https://obsidian.md/
Install Hugo
- In a command prompt, execute:
winget install -e --id Hugo.Hugo.Extended
- In a command prompt, execute:
Install Sumatra PDF
Install InkScape
- From https://inkscape.org
Install Foobar2000
- From https://www.foobar2000.org
- Also install the free encoder pack from https://www.foobar2000.org/encoderpack
Install VLC
Install Ditto
- From https://ditto-cp.sourceforge.io/
- (because Windows built-in
Clipboard Historyis lame beyond words.)
Install 7-Zip
Install Firefox
Install Notepad++
Install AutoHotkey
- From https://www.autohotkey.com/
- In case of antivirus trouble, download as a zip file.
Install Git
- Execute
winget install Git.Git - Or download from https://git-scm.com/downloads/win
- Under
Select ComponentscheckWindows Explorer integration/Open Git Bash here - Under
Choosing the default editor used by GitselectUse Notepad++ as Git's default editor.
- Execute
Install TortoiseGit
Install Visual Studio Community Edition
Install SysInternals Process Explorer
- From https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/process-explorer
- Download into
%UserProfile%\bin\ProcessExplorer
Install a Windows File Explorer extension for SVGs. Either:
- SVG Preview
- Via
winget install SickSartori.SvgPreview - See (https://github.com/SickSartori/svg-preview
- This is the recommended tool to install.
- Via
- SVG See
- Via
winget install -e --id SVGExplorerExtension.SVGExplorerExtension - a.k.a. "SVG Viewer Extension for Windows Explorer"
- a.k.a." SVG Explorer Extension" by tibold
- See https://www.free-codecs.com/guides/how-to-preview-svg-files-in-file-explorer.htm
- See https://github.com/tibold/svg-explorer-extension/releases
- Pros: "does not add system tray bloat" Cons: "Not maintained anymore"
- Via
- Windows PowerToys
- Via
winget install --id Microsoft.PowerToys --source winget - WARNING: heavyweight installation
- Via
- ThioJoe's SVG Thumbnail Extension
- Via
winget install ThioJoe.SvgThumbnailExtension - See https://github.com/ThioJoe/win-svg-thumbs-rust
- Via
- SVG Preview
Install Opera
- from https://www.opera.com
- Install DarkReader from the Google Chrome Store
- Install Ublock Origin from https://addons.opera.com/en/extensions/details/ublock/
Note:
- On Windows 10, certain crapware like
Game Bar,Mixed Reality Portal,Phone Link,Tipsetc. cannot be uninstalled. (FUCK YOU MICROSOFT) - On Windows 11, certain crapware like
Microsoft Store,Microsoft Edge,Cortana,Get Help,People,Windows Security, andYour Phonecannot be uninstalled. (FUCK YOU MICROSOFT)
- On Windows 10, certain crapware like
More Windows configuration
Configure Windows File Explorer
- Folder Options:
- General:
Open File Explorer to:- SELECT
This PC
- SELECT
- View:
- Files and Folders:
Decrease space between items (compact view)→ ENABLE (Win11?)Display the full path in the title bar→ DISABLEHidden files and folders→ SELECTShow hidden files, folders, and drivesHide extensions for known file types→ DISABLEHide protected operating system files (Recommended)→ DISABLELaunch folder windows in a separate process→ ENABLERestore previous folder windows at log-on→ ENABLE
Apply to Folders→ CLICK
- Files and Folders:
- General:
- Right-click in the empty space in the left sidebar (Navigation pane)
Show all folders→ ENABLEExpand to current folder→ ENABLE
- Folder Options:
Configure Language
Settings→LanguagePreferred languagesAdd a languageEnglish (United States)→ ADDInstall Language Pack→ ENABLE
Add a languageΕλληνικά (Greek)→ ADDInstall language pack→ DISABLEText-to-speech→ DISABLEHandwriting→ DISABLE
Windows display language- SELECT
English (United States)
- SELECT
Related settingsAdministrative language settings→FormatsFormat:→ SELECTEnglish (United States)Short date:→ SELECTyyyy-MM-ddLong date:→ SELECTdddd, MMMM, d, yyyyShort time:→ SELECTHH:mmLong time:→ SELECTHH:mm:ss
Typing(Spelling, typing, and keyboard settings)Autocorrect misspelled words→DISABLE
Configure Accessibility
Settings→Accessibility→Text cursorText cursor thickness→ SELECT 2
KeyboardUse Sticky KeysAllow the shortcut key to start Sticky Keys→ DISABLE
Use Toggle KeysAllow the shortcut key to start Toggle Keys→ DISABLE
Use Filter KeysAllow the shortcut key to start Filter Keys→ DISABLE
Change how keyboard shortcuts workUnderline access keys when available→ ENABLE
Personalize
Settings→AccountsYour Info→Create your picture→Browse for one- Save and browse for this picture:
Settings→PersonalizationBackgroundΒackground→ SELECTPictureChoose a photo→ Download, browse to, and select one of the following images:

Choose a fit for your desktop image→ SELECTTile-Colors-Choose your color→ SELECTDark-Choose your accent color→ SELECTCustom color, make it orange, medium brightness. -Show accent color on the following surfaces-Start, taskbar, and action center→ ENABLE -Title bars and window borders→ ENABLE- Fix the title-bar color of inactive windows
- Using
RegEdit, navigate to:HKEY\_CURRENT\_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\DWM
- set the DWORD value
AccentColorInactiveto2f2f2f. (Add the value if missing.)
- Using
StartShow suggestions occasionally in Start→ DISABLE -System→
Multi-tasking→Alt + TabPressing Alt + Tab shows- SELECT
Open windows only
- SELECT
Shared experiencesShare across devices→ DISABLE -Clipboard→
Clipboard history→ DISABLE - Create an Administrator Command Prompt shortcut- Search for
Command Prompt - Create a shortcut on the desktop
- Edit properties
- Select
Advanced - Select
Run as Administrator - Pin to start - Create an Administrator Powershell shortcut
- Search for
Powershell - Create a shortcut on the desktop
- Edit properties
- Select
Advanced - Select
Run as Administrator - Pin to start - Create a shortcut to Services
- Search for
Services - Pin to start - Create a shortcut to RegEdit
- Search for
RegEdit - Pin to start - Create a shortcut to CharMap
- Search for
CharMap - Pin to start
Unfuck Windows
- Disable application pinning to taskbar
- Run gpedit.msc
- Go to
User Configuration→Administrative Templates→Start menu and Taskbar - Look for
Do not allow pinning programs to the Taskbar→ Enable it.
- Disable fucking up of the Alt+Tab switcher
- Open windows settings (Win+I)
- Search for
multitasking settings - Find
Show tabs from apps when snapping or pressing Alt+Tab- → set to
Don't show tabs
- → set to
- Disable application pinning to taskbar
Enable natural mouse wheel scrolling
- Follow the instructions at Mouse Wheel Natural Scrolling in Windows
If dealing with Nazi admins from hell who have taken control over your HOMEDRIVE and HOMEPATH variables and forced them to point to some network drive, thus preventing you from using SSH unless connected to their stupid network:
- Add the following environment variable:
HOME=%UserProfile%
- Add the following environment variable:
Configure
Memory Compression- In an ELEVATED PowerShell prompt, execute the following:
- Disable-MMAgent -mc
- In an ELEVATED PowerShell prompt, execute the following:
Configure UAC
- Go to Settings, search for UAC, select
User Account Control Settings, set slider toNever notify.- Justification: In principle the UAC notification is a good thing to have, but Windows is so fucked up that the UAC notification often starts minimized in the taskbar instead of full screen, so it does not get noticed.
- Go to Settings, search for UAC, select
Configure applications
Configure Ditto
...→Quick OptionsLines per clip→ SELECT1View Caption Bar On→ SELECTTop
OptionsKeyboard ShortcutsActivate Ditto(2) → SET Win+V- This will not work because starting with Windows 10 Microsoft has reserved all
Winkeys for its own use -- FUCK YOU MICROSOFT.
- This will not work because starting with Windows 10 Microsoft has reserved all
Activate Ditto(2) → SET Ctrl+`Move clips to the top of the list on paste→ ENABLE
Configure 7-Zip
Options7-Ziptab:Icons in context menu→ ENABLEContext menu items:- DISABLE ALL, then:
Open Archive→ ENABLEExtract to \<Folder>→ ENABLE- `Add to <Archive>.zip → ENABLE
- DISABLE ALL, then:
Settingstab:Show real file icons→ ENABLE
Configure Firefox
- Visit
about:configand setbrowser.tabs.tabMinWidthto 50 - install
Dark Readerextension - install
UBlock Originextension - install
Markdown Viewerextension bysimov- Options → allow all file access, allow all site access
- Theme → Water-Dark
- Visit
Configure Git
- Add
C:\Program Files\Git\usr\binto thePATHenvironment variable so thatbashis in the path.
- Add
Configure TortoiseGit
- Select all defaults, except:
English (GB) dictionary→ DISABLESSH→ SELECTOpenSSH(Alternatively, after installing, go toOptions→Network→SSH→SSH client:and enter C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH\ssh.exe`)
Settings→Colors 1→Dark Theme→ ENABLE- Select any two files in Windows File Explorer
- Right-click on the files →
TortoiseGit→Diff→File→Settings→Colors→Use dark mode→ ENABLE
- Select all defaults, except:
Configure SysInternals Process Explorer
OptionsRun At Logon→ ENABLE- Hide When Minimized` → ENABLE
Allow Only One Instance→ ENABLEConfirm Kill→ DISABLETray Icons→Commit History→ ENABLE
Configure Visual Studio
Extensions→Installed- Remove pre-installed crap. (FUCK YOU MICROSOFT)
Tools→Import and Export Settings...→Import and Export Settings WizardImport selected environment settings→ (Next)Yes, save my current settings→ Save as YYYY-MM-DD.defaults.vssettings in <home>\Personal\Settings\VisualStudio → (Next)Choose a Collection of Settings to Import→ (Browse...)- Select settings file from previous installation
Tools→Options→ NuGet Package Manager`- Click on the camouflaged
+button at the top-right corner of the dialog - Fill-in:
Name:→nuget.orgSource:https://api.nuget.org/v3/index.json
- Click on the camouflaged
Tools→Options→Source Control→Git Global SettingsCryptographic network provider→ SELECTUnsetCredential helper→ SELECTUnset
Extensions→Manage Extensions→ Online- Install
VsColorOutput64- Then in Visual Studio, go to
Tools→Options→VSColorOutput64→General→Build Actions- Set
Yes, I Donated!toTrue
- Set
- Then in Visual Studio, go to
- Install
EditorConfig Guidelines(byIvan.Z)
- Install
Configure ZoomPlusU
- In Windows File Explorer, right-click on the executable, select properties.
- On the
Compatibilitytab:- Check
Run this program in compatibility mode for: - Select
Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) - Click
Change high DPI settings; in the new dialog:- Check
Override high DPI scaling behavior. - Select
Application.
- Check
- Check
Personal configuration (Done by me)
Configure AutoHotkey
- Go to %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
- In that folder, create a shortcut to %USERPROFILE%\Personal\myStandardAutoHotKeyScript\MyStandardAutoHotKeyScript.ahk
Configure Firefox
- Set up Sync
Configure Opera
- Set up Opera Sync
- Copy Settings from old installation
%UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\Opera Software\Opera Stable\Default
Configure Notepad++
- Go to
Settings→Style Configurator...and selectChoco - Unzip the contents of:
%UserProfile%\Personal\settings\Notepad++.zip
- into:
%UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\Notepad++\
- Go to
Configure Microsoft Edge
- Delete the Microsoft Edge icon from the desktop and empty the recycle bin.
- Launch Microsoft Edge, go to settings
- Go to
Settings / Profiles / Microsoft Rewards / Earn Microsoft Rewards in Microsoft Edge-→ DISABLE (FUCK YOU MICROSOFT)
- Go to
- Restart Microsoft Edge. (FUCK YOU MICROSOFT)
- If the misfortune hath befallen thee of being employed by a company that has
configured
Microsoft Edgeto automatically launch on every login:- Open C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application in Windows Explorer
- Rename msedge.exe to new_msedge.exe
Pin to Startnew_msedge.exe- Create a directory called
msedge.exe - Windows has been observed to create a directory called
msedge\_exeinstead, if that happens, rename it tomsedge.exe(FUCK YOU MICROSOFT) - Go to
Properties, make it read-only. (As it turns out, this is not enough, keep reading) - Go to
Properties→Security→Advanced, take ownership and disable inheritance so that nothing has access to it. - Launch
Microsoft Edge. - Right-click on the icon of the running application on the taskbar.
- In the menu that appears, right-click on
Microsoft Edgeand selectProperties. - Shortcut tab: Change the target from
msedge.exetonew\_msedge.exe - Click
Change Icon... - Under
Look for icons in this filereplacemsedge.exewithnew\_msedge.exeand select the first icon.
Add SSH keys
- If the command
ssh-add -lfails witherror connecting to agentthen temporarily start theOpenSSH Authentication Agentservice (may require setting itsStartup TypetoManual.) - Execute the following:
ssh-add <HOME>\.ssh\<personal-key-file>\_rsassh-add <HOME>\.ssh\<employer-key-file>\_rsa
- If the command
Install Jasc Paint Shop Pro
- Install
Paint Shop Pro 9.01 EN Trial (psp901entr).exe- In the
Save files in folderbox enterC:\temp\psp - When selecting features:
Browse with Right Click Menu→ DISABLEJasc Thumbnail Shell Extension→ DISABLE
- On the
InstallShield Wizard Completedpage:Show me important information about Jasc Paint Shop Pro 9→ DISABLEPlace an Icon for Jasc Paint Shop Pro 9 on the Desktop→ DISABLEPlace an Icon for Jasc Paint Shop Pro 9 in your QuickLaunch bar→ DISABLE
- On the registration dialog:
- Skip
- Delete
C:\temp\psp - Copy
Jasc PaintShop Pro 9.01- Bidjan.exetoC:\Program Files (x86)\Jasc Software Inc\Paint Shop Pro 9\ - Select
Run As AdministratoronJasc PaintShop Pro 9.01- Bidjan.exe - On the
Jasc Updatedialog:Never Check Automatically→ ENABLE
- In the
- Install
Install Cool Edit Pro 2.1
- Following the instructions in the README.txt file.
Configure
VsColorOutput64- Copy the file vscoloroutput.json from %UserProfile%\Personal\Settings\VSColorOutput to %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\VsColorOutput64\
More software to install:
Try Dotz Software SVG Explorer Extension
MPC-HC
qbittorrent